There are three major categories of degrees available for postsecondary students: bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. Earning one of these degrees can take 2-8 years, depending on the level of the degree and field of study.


Adults who are seeking a non-degree program that allows one to focus on a specific area of study and, in turn, increase employment opportunities may want to enroll in specialized coursework. Coursework can lead to a certificate or diploma. Advanced training and qualification are a few of the benefits of coursework. Coursework programs may also interest professionals who want to develop their expertise in their field – professional qualification.


An Undergraduate Certificate is the same as the first year of an undergraduate degree. These programs are non-degree programs, and they are sometimes taken in conjunction with a degree program. Certificate programs cover a specific area of study. Also, many schools, colleges, and universities offer certificate programs in a variety of areas.


A foundation course is a preparatory course for university-level.

The foundation course is a one or two year preparatory course for school-leavers who want to qualify for a place on a bachelor degree course.


Those who are interested in increasing their knowledge in a particular discipline without entering a formal degree program may wish to pursue an education in a diploma program. An Undergraduate Diploma is the same as the second year of an undergraduate degree. By completing a diploma, one may gain additional knowledge in a specific area of study. As a result, one can reap the benefits of increased value as an employee as well as greater expertise in their discipline.

Top-up degrees:

Top-up degrees are for those who have successfully completed a HND (Higher National Diploma) or Foundation Degree and want to study further and progress onto the final year of an Honours degree programme.

Advanced Diploma:

The advanced diploma program is one year longer than the regular diploma which makes it a 3 year course.

The Advanced Diploma is the highest of the undergraduate diploma awards.

Bachelor's Degrees:

A bachelor's degree program is an undergraduate program that usually takes three to four years to complete. Enrolling in a bachelor's degree program requires that students choose a major area of study. Graduates from a bachelor's degree program are qualified to work in entry- or management-level positions, depending on the field.

Different types of degrees available in a bachelor's degree program include the following:

  • Bachelor of Arts (B.A.)
  • Bachelor of Science (B.S.)
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA
Master's Degrees:

Master's degree programs are graduate programs that let students specialize in an area of study and typically take 1-2 years to complete. Many master's degree programs require a thesis or capstone project for graduation.

Earning a master's degree may qualify graduates to work in advanced or executive-level positions. A master's degree is also required for entrance into some doctoral programs.

Different degree programs available at the master's-level include the following:

  • Master of Arts (M.A.)
  • Master of Science (M.S.)
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
  • Master of Fine Arts (MF
Doctoral Degrees:

Doctoral degree programs are the most advanced type of degree program available. Admittance into a doctoral degree program usually requires a master's degree. Completing the Ph.D. usually takes several years, involving the completion of a dissertation and a major research project.

Ph.D. graduates are qualified to work as experts in areas of business or research, as well as professors at the university level. Common types of doctoral degrees include those listed below:

  • Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)
  • Juris Doctor (J.D.)
  • Doctor of Medicine (M.D.)
  • Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS)

Le baccalauréat général:
Le baccalauréat général est organisé en séries économique et sociale (ES) et littéraire (L) et scientifique (S). Chaque série est organisée autour d'un noyau cohérent de disciplines dominantes dans le cadre d'une formation générale. Le baccalauréat général vise la poursuite d'études supérieures longues.

Le baccalauréat professionnel:
Le baccalauréat professionnel est un diplôme national qui atteste que ses titulaires sont aptes à exercer une activité professionnelle hautement qualifiée. Le baccalauréat professionnel est délivré au titre d'une spécialité professionnelle. Il permet l'insertion professionnelle mais également  une poursuite d'études, notamment vers le brevet de technicien supérieur (BTS).

Certificat d'aptitude professionnelle – CAP:
Le CAP est un diplôme professionnel qui vous donne une qualification propre à l’exercice d’un métier.

Le brevet d’études professionnelles – BEP:
Le BEP est un diplôme d’études secondaires et un diplôme d’enseignement professionnel. Le BEP était généralement demande pour effectuer un baccalauréat professionnel de 2 ans.

Le brevet de technicien supérieur (BTS):
Le brevet de technicien supérieur (BTS) est un diplôme national de l'enseignement supérieur français. Il se prépare normalement en deux années après l'obtention du baccalauréat.

La licence est un diplôme national et un grade universitaire, validant trois années d’études après le baccalauréat. L’obtention de la licence permet la poursuite d’études universitaires vers le grade de master, ou l’insertion dans la vie professionnelle

La maîtrise est un diplôme national et un grade universitaire de second cycle de l’enseignement supérieur, validant la quatrième ou cinquième année d'études après le baccalauréat, et une ou deux années d'études supplémentaires après la licence.

Dans le système éducatif français, le master est un diplôme national, validant un deuxième cycle de l’enseignement supérieur soit cinq années d’études après le baccalauréat. Le master se prépare en quatre semestres (il correspond à un diplôme bac + 5 années d'études).

Le doctorat:
Tous les étudiants titulaires du grade de Master peuvent se porter candidat à une inscription en thèse de doctorat, qu'ils aient obtenu un diplôme de master, ou qu'ils soient titulaires d'un titre d'ingénieur ou un diplôme d'école supérieure de commerce conférant le grade de Master.
La durée de préparation du doctorat est en règle générale de trois ans (il correspond à un diplôme bac + 8 années d'étude).

Plus ici..